A socialist, Zumah Tii-roug Yaro, says he is afraid former Minister for Trade and Industry, Alan John Kyerematen, is likely not to secure a single vote in the Upper East Region at the Super Delegates Conference of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP).

According to the former Upper East Regional First Vice-Chairman of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), a government-backed team has succeeded in persuading delegates in the region to vote for the Vice-President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, against their will.

Zumah Tii-roug Yaro is former CPP parliamentary candidate for Talensi Constituency

“The information I have is that a team has been able to whip all delegates, particularly the appointees and the constituency chairmen, to cast their votes in favour of the establishment candidate, who is the Vice-President. But a deputy secretary has disagreed, saying he will vote for Kennedy Agyapong. This is undemocratic, to force people to vote for a candidate against their will.

“Looking at it, it is likely that out of the 36 delegates who are to vote in Upper East, the Vice-President Bawumia is likely to get 35 if all of them are present. Kennedy Agyapong will get 1. I’m afraid the rest will get zero. I am neither a fan of the NPP nor a sympathiser of the party. This is due to some actions of the Upper East Regional Minister doubling as a self-imposed small-scale mining mediator, which has never happened before. People of that nature, if allowed to lead any campaign organisation, will hunt prospective delegates,” Zumah, who is also a former member of the CPP’s Central Committee, said.

The Super Delegates Conference takes place on Saturday, 26 August 2023, at designated venues across the country.

The 10 aspirants as they appear on the ballot paper. Photo credit: The Daily Graphic.

The 10 aspirants include: Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong; a former Trade and Industry Minister, Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen; the MP for Essikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey, who is also a former Minister of Railways Development and Attorney-General and Minister of Justice; an energy consultant, Kwadwo Poku; and a former Minister of Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto.

The rest are: a former General Secretary of the NPP and Press Secretary to President J.A. Kufuor, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong; a former MP for Mampong in the Ashanti Region, Francis Addai-Nimoh; a former Commissioner of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku; a former Minister of Energy, Boakye Agyarko; and the Vice-President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

Source: Media Without Borders/mwbonline.org


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here